Hiving the Package

So I’ve got bees, a hive, and all those supplies, and now it’s time to put them together.

I pull out four of the frames so there will be a place to put all the bees, and spray them really well with the sugar syrup.  This keeps them from flying too easily, and makes my job a lot simpler!

Bee Equipment

The next step is to make sure the sugar can in the package is loose, then take a deep breath, and bonk the package firmly on a hard surface so the bees fall down.

Bonked Bees

Once that happens, you can see the cage holding the queen (it’s attached to the little metal tab to the left of the can in the photo above), but the bees are starting to crawl back up, so I need to hurry.  I pull out the sugar can, set it aside, and wiggle the queen cage free.  I was lucky enough to have a helper, and I handed the caged queen to her.

I’m a little slow, and by the time I had that done, the bees were crawling all over the sides of the cage again, so I bonked them one more time before dumping and shaking them into the hive.

Dumping bees

Shaking a box of bees is a little disconcerting, but they tumble right out and mostly land in the hive. A few of them are flying around at this point, but they’ll find their way home on their own.

Finally, it’s time for the most important bee in the hive, her Majesty the queen.

Her Majesty

This post is getting a little long, so I’ll explain what we do with her next time!

Published in: on 1 May 2009 at 4:52 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://citybees.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/hiving-the-package/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

